CME Group Holiday Calendar

CME Group observes 11 U.S.-recognized holidays. On these holidays, trading hours may vary depending on markets traded. Opening and closing times may be affected on the holiday, as well as the business days prior to or after a holiday.

View regular trading hours

2020 Holiday Schedules

2020 CME Globex Trading Schedule

CME Globex will observe the following holidays in 2020. Trading times and days affected may vary depending on the holiday. Download the existing files to view altered trading hours.

U.S. Holiday Includes the following dates: Excel Compact Excel
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. 17 - 21 January 2020 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
President's Day 14 - 18 February 2020 President's Day President's Day
Good Friday 9 - 13 April 2020 Good Friday Good Friday
Memorial Day 22 - 26 May 2020 Memorial Day Memorial Day
Independence Day 2 - 6 July 2020 Independence Day Independence Day
Labor Day 4 - 8 September 2020 Labor Day Labor Day
Thanksgiving 25 - 27 November 2020 Thanksgiving Thanksgiving
Christmas 24 - 28 December 2020 Christmas Christmas
New Year’s 31 December 2020 - 4 January 2021 New Year’s New Year’s

** Note: This schedule is subject to change. Trading hours are usually finalized approximately two weeks prior to the holiday.

2020 - CME ClearPort Trading Schedule

CME ClearPort will observe the following holidays during the year 2020 which may affect the open and close trading times.  All times are Eastern Standard Time*

HOLIDAY DATE ON WHICH CME CLEARPORT DOES NOT OPEN DATE AND TIME CME CLEARPORT OPENS
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Monday, Jan 20
  Unaffected and will run on a normal schedule
for the next day’s trade date
Presidents’ Day
Monday, Feb 17
  Unaffected and will run on a normal schedule
for the next day’s trade date
Good Friday
Friday, April 10
Friday, April 10, 2020 Sunday, April 12, 2020
at 1800:ET for the next day’s trade date
Memorial Day
Monday, May 25
  Unaffected and will run on a normal schedule
for the next day’s trade date
Independence Day
Friday, Jul 3
  The system will run on a modified schedule
for Monday, July 6 trade date
Labor Day
Monday, Sep 7
  Unaffected and will run on a normal schedule
for the next day’s trade date
Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, Nov 26
*Friday November 27, 2020 Early Close 13:45 ET* Unaffected and will run on a normal schedule
for the next day’s trade date
Christmas Day
Friday, Dec 25
*Thurs, December 24, 2020 Early Close 13:45 ET* (does not open on Fri, Dec 25, 2020) Sunday, December 27, 2020
at 18:00 ET for the next day’s trade date
New Year’s Day 2021
Friday, Jan 1
Friday, January 1, 2021 Sunday, January 3, 2021
at 18:00 ET for the next day’s trade date

* Holiday schedules are subject to input from the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and the Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA). CME Globex® holiday hours can be viewed at www.cmegroup.com/holidaycalendar.

** Note: This schedule is subject to change. Trading hours are usually finalized approximately two weeks prior to the holiday.

2020 - Trading Floor Schedule

CME Trading Floor will observe the following holidays during the year 2020 which may affect the open and close trading times.  All times are Central Standard Time*

HOLIDAY DATE AND TIME ON WHICH NOTED CME GROUP TRADING CLOSES EARLY DATE ON WHICH THE CHICAGO TRADING FLOOR IS CLOSED
New Year’s Day 2020
Wednesday, Jan 1
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 Foreign Exchange & Interest Rates Floor Options Close at 12:00 CT Wednesday, January 1. 2020
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Monday, Jan 20
  Monday, January 20, 2020
Presidents’ Day
Monday, Feb 17
  Monday, February 17, 2020
Good Friday
Friday, April 10
Thursday, April 09, 2020 Foreign Exchange & Interest Rates Floor Options Close at 12:00 CT Friday, April 10, 2020
Memorial Day
Monday, May 25
Friday, May 22, 2020 Foreign Exchange & Interest Rates Floor Options Close at 12:00 CT Monday, May 25, 2020
Independence Day
Saturday, July 4
Thursday, July 2, 2020 Foreign Exchange, Interest Rates, Grain, Dairy, Weather & Real Estate Floor Options Close at 12:00 CT, Live Stock Options Close at 12:05 CT Friday, July 3, 2020
Labor Day
Monday, Sep 7
  Monday, September 7, 2020
Columbus Day
Monday, Oct 12
  Monday, October 12, 2020 Foreign Exchange & Interest Rates Closed. Equities, Commodities, Weather & Real Estate
-
Normal Day
Veterans Day
(Observed)
Wednesday, Nov 11
  Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Foreign Exchange & Interest Rates Closed. Equities, Commodities, Weather & Real Estate
-
Normal Day

Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, Nov 26

Friday, November 27, 2020 Foreign Exchange, Interest Rates, Grains, Weather & Real Estate Floor Options Close at 12:00 CT Live Stock Options Close at 12:05 CT, Equities Futures and Options Close at 12:15 CT Thursday, November 26, 2020
------------------------------------------
Friday, November 27, 2020 Dairy closed

Christmas Day
Friday, Dec 25

Thursday, December 24, 2020 Foreign Exchange, Interest Rates, Grains, Dairy, Weather & Real Estate Floor Options Close at 12:00 CT, Live Stock Options Close at 12:05 CT. Equities Futures and Options Close at 12:15 CT Friday, December 25, 2020
New Year’s Day 2021
Friday, Jan 1
Thursday, December 31, 2020 Foreign Exchange & Interest Rates Floor Options Close at 12:00 CT Friday, January 1, 2021

* Holiday schedules are subject to input from the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and the Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA). CME Globex® holiday hours can be viewed at www.cmegroup.com/holidaycalendar.

2020 - Clearing Notices

U.S. Holiday Includes the following dates: Futures and Options OTC
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. 17-21 January 2020 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
President's Day 14- 18 February 2020 President's Day President's Day
Good Friday 9 - 13 April 2020 Good Friday Good Friday
Memorial Day 22 - 26 May 2020 Memorial Day Memorial Day
Independence Day 2 - 6 July 2020 Independence Day Independence Day
Labor Day 4 - 8 September 2020 Labor Day Labor Day
Columbus Day 12 October 2020 Columbus Day Columbus Day
Veteran's Day 11 November 2020 Veterans Day Veterans Day
Thanksgiving 25 - 27 November 2020 Thanksgiving Thanksgiving
Christmas 24-28 December 2020 Christmas Christmas
New Year’s 31 December 2020 - 4 January 2021 New Year’s New Year’s

2020 Settlement Notices

U.S. Holiday Includes the following dates: PDF
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. 17 - 21 January 2020 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
President's Day 14 - 18 February 2020 President's Day
Good Friday 9 - 13 April 2020 Good Friday
Memorial Day 22 - 26 May 2020 Memorial Day
Independence Day 2 - 6 July 2020 Independence Day
Labor Day 4 -8 September 2020 Labor Day
Columbus Day 12 October 2020 Columbus Day
Veterans Day 11 November 2020 Veterans Day
Thanksgiving 25 -27 November 2020 Thanksgiving
Christmas 24-28 December 2020 Christmas
New Year’s Eve 31 December 2020 - 4 January 2021 New Year's Eve

2020 CME Globex Freeze Calendar

  • During a CME Globex Freeze weekend customer testing is not allowed.
  • New iLink session IDs can be built and deleted on the Friday before the freeze weekend.
  • Details regarding Saturday testing are available in section 7 Saturday Testing of the iLink Session ID Policy and Operational Guidelines.

Please Note: The July through December freeze dates are subject to change.

Event

Holiday Date (if applicable)

Freeze Date

New Year’s Day  

Wednesday, January 1 

Saturday, January 4, 2020

Dr. Martin Luther King  

Monday January 20 

Saturday, January 18, 2020

Presidents’ Day 

Monday, February 17 

Saturday, February 15, 2020

CME Group Freeze

Saturday, February 29

Saturday, February 29, 2020

CME Group Freeze  

Saturday, March 14

Saturday, March 14, 2020

Good Friday/Easter 

Friday, April 10 & 12 

Saturday, April 11, 2020

CME Group Freeze

Saturday, April 25

Saturday, April 25, 2020

CME Internal DR Test

Saturday, May 9

Saturday, May 9, 2020

Memorial Day

Monday, May 25

Saturday, May 23, 2020

CME Group Freeze

Saturday, June 13

Saturday, June 13, 2020

CME Group Freeze

Saturday, June 27

Saturday, June 27, 2020

Independence Day (US)

Saturday, July 4

Saturday, July 4, 2020

CME Group Freeze 

Saturday, July 18

Saturday, July 18, 2020

CME Group Freeze

Thursday, August 8 

Saturday, August 8, 2020

CME Group Freeze 

Saturday, August 29 

Saturday, August 29, 2020

Labor Day (US)

Monday, September 7

Saturday, September 5, 2020

CME Internal DR Test

Saturday, October 17

Saturday, October 17, 2020

FIA DR Test

Saturday, October 24

Saturday, October 24, 2020

CME Group Freeze 

Saturday, October 31 

Saturday, October 31, 2020

CME Group Freeze

Saturday, November 14

Saturday, November 14, 2020

Thanksgiving (US)

Thursday, November 26

Saturday, November 28, 2020

Christmas

Friday, December 25 

Saturday, December 26, 2020

New Year’s Day

Friday, January 1

Saturday, January 2, 2021

Archived Calendars