• CME Group Announces NYMEX September 11 Memorial Plans

      • To
      • Quote Vendors
      • From
      • Market Data Operations
      • #
      • Q2008-179
      • Notice Date
      • 08 September 2008
      • Effective Date
      • 11 September 2008
    • NYMEX will observe moments of silence on Thursday, September 11, 2008, marking the seventh anniversary of the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001. Names of the exchange community members who lost their lives in the tragedy that day that will be read in a brief ceremony on the NYMEX trading floor at 2:45 p.m.


      Open outcry trading will cease for one minute at 8:46 a.m. and 9:03 a.m., the times the airplanes crashed into each tower and again at 9:59 a.m. and 10:29 a.m., marking the times that each tower collapsed.


      All electronic market users are asked to participate in these moments of silence in memory of the personnel affiliated with NYMEX and ICE Futures USA (formerly the New York Board of Trade) who lost their lives that day by refraining from trading NYMEX and COMEX products on CME Globex® and Clearport® during these times.


      The individuals who will be remembered include:


      Dennis Foo (member of COMEX Division of NYMEX and NYBOT)


      Edward Ryan (former member of NYMEX and COMEX)

      Steven Furman (former NYMEX member)


      Joseph Shea (NYBOT member)

      Doug Gardner (NYBOT member)


      Paul Skrzypek (former NYMEX member)

      Joseph Heller (COMEX member)


      Carlton Valvo (former NYMEX member)

      Joseph Holland (NYMEX member)


      Elkin Yuen (NYMEX member)

      Robert Hussa (former COMEX member)


      Evan Baron (Carr Futures)

      Joseph Kellet (NYMEX member)


      Michael Canty (Carr Futures)

      Neil Leavy (former COMEX member)


      Christopher Dincuff (Carr Futures)

      James McAlary, Jr. (NYMEX member)


      Brendan Dolan (Carr Futures)

      Thomas McGinnis (NYMEX member)


      Karen Klitzman (former NYMEX vice president of research)

      Mark Motroni (member of NYMEX and NYBOT)


      Damian Meehan (Carr Futures)

      David Nelson (COMEX member)


      Peter Raimondi (Carr Futures)

      Edward Oliver (NYMEX member)


      Lonny Stone (Carr Futures)

      Robert O’Shea (NYMEX member)


      Scott Timmes (Carr Futures)

      Patrick O’Shea (member of COMEX and NYBOT)


      Christopher Traina (Carr Futures)

      Mark Petrocelli (NYMEX Brent permit holder)


      Alfred Vukosa (former NYMEX staff)



      After September 11, 2001, NYMEX was the first exchange in New York to reopen trading on its electronic trading system on September 14, 2001, and the first business to reopen west of Ground Zero, when it resumed floor trading on September 17.

      Should you have any questions or require any further information, please contact exchangeinfo@nymex.com