Daily Settlement Price Determination Time Change


1. When will the change become effective?

The new daily settlement price determination schedule will be effective on Monday, October 26, 2020.


2. What products are impacted?

The daily settlement price determination time for the following products will be changed from 4:15 p.m. ET/3:15 p.m. CT to 4:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. CT:

  • E-mini S&P 500, S&P 500, and Micro E-mini S&P 500 index futures and options on futures
  • E-mini Nasdaq-100 and Micro E-mini Nasdaq 100 index futures and options on futures
  • E-mini Dow Jones Industrial Average and Micro E-mini Dow Jones Industrial Average futures and options on futures
  • E-mini Russell 2000 and Micro E-mini Russell 2000 index futures and options on futures
  • Yen- and dollar-denominated Nikkei 225 and E-mini Nikkei 225 index futures and options

Please note other CME Group Equity Index products not listed above already have their daily settlement price determination set at 4:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. CT.  Effectively, all CME Group Equity Index products will have identical timing for daily settlement price determination following the change. 


3. On shortened trading days, when will the daily settlement price determination occur?

1:00 p.m. ET/12:00 noon CT


4. Is there a special daily settlement time for the last business day of the month?

No. Following the change, daily settlement price determination will occur at 4:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. CT (1:00 p.m. ET/12 noon CT on shortened trading days) every day.


5. Why is CME Group making this change?

The change is being made to harmonize the daily valuation time of CME listed Equity derivatives to the cash equity market and minimize the valuation mismatches due to the current 15-minute time difference.


6. What is the valuation methodology when this change becomes effective?

There is no change in valuation methodology. The same methodology currently in place for 4:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. CT settlement determination on the last business day of the month will be used every day. It is primarily based on the volume weighted average price of transactions occurring within the 30-second period leading up to 4:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. CT. For full details, please consult the CME Group settlement information page: https://www.cmegroup.com/confluence/display/EPICSANDBOX/Equity+Indices


7. Is there any change to settlement price dissemination?

Yes. At 4:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. CT, CME Group will publish the S&P settlement and tag it as Settle Type = Actual. This price will appear on all market data vendors, CME Group website, our ftp and the daily bulletin per usual.


8. Is there any change to the trading hours for the affected products?

No. Trading hours remain unchanged. For example, E-mini S&P 500 index futures will continue to trade from 6:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. CT on the previous day to 5:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. CT, with a 15-minute pause between 4:15 p.m. ET/3:15 p.m. CT and 4:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. CT on normal trading days. Please consult contract specifications for each product for more detail, if necessary.


9. Is there any change to Clearing cycle, etc.?

The timing for any post-trade processing, including clearing information availability, remains unchanged.


10. How are option exercises and assignments impacted?

The procedure remains unchanged. Currently there are two types of options on index futures – they are either (a) American style options that expiries on the same day as the expiration of the underlying futures – in which case the daily settlement time change is irrelevant as the auto exercise will be determined at the expiration of the futures, or (b) European style options that are auto-exercised based on the moneyness against a fixing at a pre-defined time, usually 4pm ET/3pm CT for options on futures based on US indexes. The timing for these fixing calculation will remain unchanged. As a result, this change in daily settlement time will have no impact on the exercise and assignment procedure.


11. Is the daily settlement price for the index futures identical to the fixing price used to determine options exercise?

Both the futures daily settlement price and the fixing price calculation use a 30-second volume weighted average price of the futures trades during the same 30-second period leading up to 4pm ET/3pm ET. However, the fixing price is rounded to a higher precision (0.01) than the futures daily settlement price (depending on the product, e.g. for E-mini S&P 500 / S&P 500 futures, 0.10).

Note, however, that in the cases when the nearest expiring futures is no longer the “lead month”, the fixing for the purpose of determining the exercise and assignment of European Style options will still be calculated using the traded prices of the nearest expiring futures, while the daily settlement price may be derived by using the settlement price of the lead month contract and the calendar spread pricing. As a result, the two prices could be noticeably different beyond rounding during that period of time.

About CME Group

As the world's leading and most diverse derivatives marketplace, CME Group is where the world comes to manage risk. Comprised of four exchanges - CME, CBOT, NYMEX and COMEX - we offer the widest range of global benchmark products across all major asset classes, helping businesses everywhere mitigate the myriad of risks they face in today's uncertain global economy.

Follow us for global economic and financial news.

CME Group on Twitter

CME Group on Facebook

CME Group on LinkedIn