Asset Class Navigation

E-mini S&P 500 Futures Contract Specs

Contract Unit $50 x S&P 500 Index
Trading Hours CME Globex: Sunday - Friday 6:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. ET (5:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. CT) with 15-minute trading halt Monday – Friday 4:15 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. ET (3:15 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. CT). Monday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. ET (4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. CT) daily maintenance period.

For the BTIC, trading hours will be Sunday – Friday 6:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. ET (5:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. CT);
Monday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. ET (4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. CT) daily maintenance period.
CME ClearPort: Sunday - Friday 6:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. ET (5:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. CT).  Monday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. ET (4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. CT) daily maintenance period.
Minimum Price Fluctuation Outright: 0.25 index points=$12.50
BTIC: 0.05 index points = $2.50
CALENDAR SPREAD 0.05 index points=$2.50
Product Code CME Globex: ES
CME ClearPort: ES
Clearing: ES
BTIC: EST
Listed Contracts Five months in the March Quarterly Cycle (Mar, Jun, Sep, Dec)
Settlement Method Financially Settled
Termination Of Trading Trading can occur up to 8:30 a.m. on the 3rd Friday of the contract month

For the BTIC, trading terminates on the Thursday before the Third Friday of the Contract Month
Settlement Procedures E-mini S&P 500 Settlement Procedures
Position Limits CME Position Limits
Exchange Rulebook CME 358
Price Limit Or Circuit Price Limits
Vendor Codes Quote Vendor Symbols Listing

About E-mini S&P 500

An electronically traded futures contract one fifth the size of standard S&P futures, E-mini S&P 500 futures and options are based on the underlying Standard & Poor’s 500 stock index. Made up of 500 individual stocks representing the market capitalizations of large companies, the S&P 500 Index is a leading indicator of large-cap U.S. equities.