• Amendments to Expiring Month Position Limits of the Live Cattle Futures Contract and Listing of the June 2018 Contract Month of the Live Cattle Futures and Options Contracts

      • To
      • Members, Member Firms and Market Users
      • From
      • Research and Product Development
      • #
      • SER-7854
      • Notice Date
      • 15 February 2017
      • Effective Date
      • 26 April 2017
    • Beginning with the April 2017 contract month and beyond, and pending Commodity Futures Trading Commission (“CFTC” or “Commission”) approval, Chicago Mercantile Exchange Inc. (“CME” or “Exchange”) will implement a reduction in the spot month limit from 300 to 200 contracts as of the close of trading on the business day immediately preceding the last two (2) trading days of the contract month for the Live Cattle Futures contract.  The initial spot month limit of 450 contracts shall continue to be in effect as of the close of trading on the first business day following the first Friday of the contract month and the second spot month limit of 300 contracts shall continue to be in effect as of the close of trading on the business day immediately preceding the last five (5) trading days of the contract month. The single month limit of 6,300 futures contract equivalents remains unchanged.

      Please refer questions on these subjects to:

      Research & Product Development

      David Lehman             David.Lehman@cmegroup.com                  +1 312 930 1875

      Fred Seamon               Fred.Seamon@cmegroup.com                   +1 312 634 1587

      Charles Piszczor          Charles.Piszczor@cmegroup.com              +1 312 930 4536

       

      Market Regulation

      Surveillance:

      Chris Reinhardt                Chris.Reinhardt@cmegroup.com            +1 312 435 3665

      Products:

      Nadine Brown                  Nadine.Brown@cmegroup.com               +1 212 299 2223

      Large Trader Reporting:

      Sandra Valtierra               Sandra.Valtierra@cmegroup.com            +1 312 347 4137

      Please click here for PDF of SER-7854.